Liaoning Province - Knowledge Base

Capital: Shenyang, 沈阳, Shěnyáng

Moderator: savanb

Liaoning Province - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:34 am

Liaoning (simplified Chinese: 辽宁; traditional Chinese: 遼寧; pinyin: Liáoníng) is a northeastern province of the People's Republic of China. Its one-character abbreviation is Liao (辽 pinyin: liáo).

"Liáo" is an ancient name for this region, which was adopted by the Liao Dynasty (Khitan Empire) which ruled this area between 907 and 1125. "Níng" means "peacefulness". The modern province was established in 1907 as Fengtian province (奉天 pinyin: Fèngtiān; Postal map spelling: Fengtien) and the name was changed to Liaoning in 1929. Under the Japanese puppet Manchukuo regime, the province reverted to its 1907 name, but the name Liaoning was restored in 1945.

Learn more:

See it: ... romeheader
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Liaoning (辽宁, Liáoníng)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest