Sichuan Province - Knowledge Base

Capital: Chengdu, 成都, Chéngdū

Moderator: savanb

Sichuan Province - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:02 am

Sichuan (Chinese: 四川; pinyin: Sìchuān; Postal map spelling: Szechwan and Szechuan) is a province in western China with its capital in Chengdu. The current name of the province, 四川 (Sìchuān), is an abbreviation of 四川路 (Sì Chuānlù), or "Four circuits of rivers", which is itself abbreviated from 川峡四路 (Chuānxiá Sìlù), or "Four circuits of rivers and gorges", named after the division of the existing circuit into four during the Northern Song Dynasty.

The province and its vicinity were the cradle of unique local civilizations, which can be dated back to at least the fifteenth century BC (coinciding with the later years of Shang Dynasty). Beginning from the ninth century BC, Shu (today Chengdu) and Ba (today Chongqing City) emerged as cultural and administrative centers where two rival kingdoms were established.

Shu's existence was unknown until an archaeological discovery in 1986 at a small village named Sanxingdui (三星堆 Sān Xīng Duī) in Guanghan County. It is believed to be an ancient city of the Shu Kingdom, where excavations have yielded invaluable archaeological information.

Learn more about Sichuan:

See it: ... romeheader
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Sichuan (四川, Sìchuān)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest