Guizhou Province - Knowledge Base

Capital: Guiyang, 贵阳. Guìyáng

Moderator: savanb

Guizhou Province - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:02 am

Guizhou (simplified Chinese: 贵州; traditional Chinese: 貴州; pinyin: Gùizhōu; Wade-Giles: Kuei-chou; also spelled Kweichow) is a province of the People's Republic of China located in the southwestern part of the country. Its provincial capital city is Guiyang.

Guizhou was under Chinese control during the Han Dynasty and well known by the Chinese for thousands of years but it was not until the Ming dynasty that it came under heavy Chinese settlement and domination during which it was made a province. This prompted mass migration from Sichuan, Hunan and its surrounding provinces into Guizhou.

Countless rebellions by its native Miao people occurred throughout the Qing dynasty. It was said in the Qing dynasty that every thirty years there would be minor revolts, while every sixty years there would be major rebellions. All the revolts would be violently suppressed by the government.

Learn more about Guizhou:

See it: ... romeheader
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Guizhou (贵州, Guìzhōu)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest