Hainan (Island) - Knowledge Base

Capital: Haikou, 海口, Hǎikǒu

Moderator: savanb

Hainan (Island) - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Hainan (Chinese: 海南; POJ: Hái-lâm, pinyin: Hǎinán , jyutping: hoi2 naam4; literal meaning: "South of the Sea") is the smallest province of the People's Republic of China (PRC). Although the province comprises some two hundred islands scattered among three archipelagos off the southern coast, all but three percent of its land mass is on Hainan Island (Hainan Dao), from which the province takes its name. To say "Hainan" in China usually refers to Hainan Island itself. The PRC government claims Hainan's territories to extend to the southern Spratly Islands, Paracel Islands and other disputed marine territory. Hainan is also the largest Special Economic Zone laid out by Chinese leader Deng Xiaoping in the late 1980s.

Learn more:



See it:



Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Hainan (海南, Hǎinán)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest