Jiangxi Province - Knowledge Base

Capital: Nanchang, 南昌, Nánchāng

Moderator: savanb

Jiangxi Province - Knowledge Base

Postby long_way » Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:00 pm

Jiangxi (Chinese: 江西; pinyin: Jiāngxī; Wade-Giles: Chiang-hsi; Postal map spelling: Kiangsi) is a southern province of the People's Republic of China, spanning from the banks of the Yangtze River in the north into hillier areas in the south.
The name of the province does not mean "west of the Yangtze" as a literal reading would imply, but originated as a contraction of "Jiangnan Xi" (江南西; "West Jiangnan", or more literally "the west of the south of the Yangtze"). The name was coined when Jiangnan ("south of the Yangtze") Circuit was split into western and eastern halves during the Tang Dynasty.[1] The short name for Jiangxi is 赣 (Pinyin: Gàn), for the Gan River.
Jiangxi is landlocked and surrounded by six provinces. It borders Anhui to the north, Zhejiang to the northeast, Fujian to the east, Guangdong to the south, Hunan to the west, and Hubei to the northwest.

Learn more:



See it:



http://home-and-garden.webshots.com/alb ... 7460IZlLsU
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:56 am

Return to Jiangxi (江西, Jiāngxī)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests